Following Fashion Religiously

Women's high street religious accessories

Hand-made bracelet

High street v. Traditional

From since I can remember, my yiayia (grandmother) has given me jewellery from thechurches she visited in Cyprus. From bracelets to necklaces, I have a box filled with jewellery draped with icon images and religious symbols, so I find it weird that so much religious jewellery has been spotted in this year’s Spring/Summer collection.

I used to think I looked quite unique when I wore this kind of jewellery, as it symbolised my heritage and religion, like the bracelet pictured on the top right hand, but this is no longer the case as these bracelets are seen in all major high street stores. My Greek Orthodox bracelet looks no different now to anyone else’s, and people do not see it as a cultural statement like they once did. So it saddens me slightly that simple pieces of jewellery that people wore to illustrate their personal beliefs have been popularised into main stream culture. People who are not religious will now be wearing the icon bracelets, and the cross on their earrings, and the Rosary beads around their neck. The other day I was watching a reality show (the best kind of tv) and a Muslim woman was wearing a large diamond encrusted cross pendant, why?

I am not the most religious person in the world;  I don’t shriek in horror at the sight of people wearing the religiously symbolled accessories that have become such a hit, but it is strange to think that such sacred emblems can be bought in a clothes shop and eve on market stools. It makes me wonder of there is any limit to fashion and how far people will go to fit in with the latest trends.

Leave a Reply

